Make You Feel My Love.

15590794_10103775988151493_1619370023425325179_o

Today is Monday, which means one of my favorite shows, The Voice, is on television. I have never really been the one to plan a specific evening around a television show, however, since my husband has been deployed, I have found it quite enjoyable to watch the shows I haven’t had the chance to.

Well, the first artist up sings a beautiful rendition of “Make You Feel My Love” by Adele. This is also the song my husband and I danced to at our wedding. Tug at my heart strings! As the coaches were talking to the artist that was performing, they explained the song in a little more detail. And to be honest, it was goosebumps city.

For any one who isn’t familiar with the lyrics:

“When the rain is blowing in your face,
And the whole world is on your case,
I could offer you a warm embrace
To make you feel my love.

When the evening shadows and the stars appear,
And there is no one there to dry your tears,
I could hold you for a million years
To make you feel my love.

I know you haven’t made your mind up yet,
But I will never do you wrong.
I’ve known it from the moment that we met,
No doubt in my mind where you belong.

I’d go hungry; I’d go black and blue,
And I’d go crawling down the avenue.
No, there’s nothing that I wouldn’t do
To make you feel my love.

The storms are raging on the rolling sea
And on the highway of regret.
The winds of change are blowing wild and free,
You ain’t seen nothing like me yet.

I could make you happy, make your dreams come true.
Nothing that I wouldn’t do.
Go to the ends of the Earth for you,
To make you feel my love
To make you feel my love”

These lyrics are saying, I will literally do anything for you and there is nothing in this world that could keep me from showing you my love. When I really listened to this song and looked at the lyrics, the only thing going through my mind was “deployment”. Which is ironic, considering that’s my life right now.

Showing love during a deployment, doesn’t necessarily always look like love. It’s being apart for months that feel like they will NEVER end. It’s cherishing every picture and every memory you have made with one another. For him, it’s traveling to places that are not exactly on your next vacation list, to protect his country and his family. It’s waking up at 2 am to take a phone call, even though you’ve got to be up early. It’s searching for the perfect care package items, so he has a little feeling of home. It’s telling yourself that God and your love for one anther will carry you through this, even on days when you can’t stop crying because you miss the other person so much it hurts. And it’s praying every day for his safe return.

For my husband and I to have danced to this song, just put so much more perspective into one memory that was already beautiful. Because even though we are thousands of miles apart, and still months from seeing each other again, there is nothing in this world I wouldn’t do to make him feel my love.

Leave a Reply

